Steering Committee


Jeny Acosta

Sr. Program Coordinator

j.acosta@miami.edu

A native of Miami, Jeny earned her BA in Interpersonal Communication from Creighton University in Omaha, Nebraska.  Upon graduation, Jeny spent five years in Morocco teaching English as a foreign language.  She returned to the US to continue her teaching career as an elementary school teacher and comes to the University of...

Tracy Devine Guzmán

Assoc. Professor

tdguzman@miami.edu

(305) 284-5585

Eduardo Elena

Assoc. Professor

edelena@miami.edu

(305) 284-4231
Eduardo Elena specializes in the history of nineteenth- and twentieth-century Latin America, with a particular interest in the societies of the South Atlantic coast (including Argentina, Uruguay, and Brazil).  Born in Montevideo, Uruguay, he grew up in the United States and was educated at the University of Virginia (B.A.) and Princeton...

Sallie L Hughes

Assoc. Professor
Faculty Director and Senior Faculty Research Area Lead for Latin American Studies

shughes@miami.edu

(305) 284-8163
Sallie Hughes, Associate Professor in the Department of Journalism and Media Management, earned her PhD in Latin American Studies from the Roger Thayer Stone Center at Tulane University. She is the Faculty Director and Senior Faculty Research Area Lead for Latin American Studies at UMIA. Hughes is author of Newsrooms in Conflict: Journalism...

Lillian Manzor

Assoc. Professor

lmanzor@miami.edu

(305) 284-5585

Yolanda M. Martinez-San Miguel, Ph.D.

Professor

ymm34@miami.edu


William J Pestle

Associate Professor
Director of Latin American Studies

w.pestle@miami.edu

(305) 284-3761
Will Pestle is a bioarchaeologist interested in the reconstruction of the lifeways of the prehistoric peoples of Latin America and the Caribbean. In his research, he uses a variety of biogeochemical analytical techniques to study patterns of subsistence, mobility, and environmental interaction in prehistoric human populations. He is in the third...

Lilian E Yaffe, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer

l.yaffe@umiami.edu

(305) 284-8833